Civil Solidarity Pact (PACS)



Who is the PACS for?


The Pacs is a contract agreed between two adults, of either different or same gender, to organise their life as a couple. It is designed for couples who do not wish to marry and who are seeking a legal framework and security that living together does not provide.
The Pacs creates rights and obligations between the partners. Aside from committing to a life together, partners are duty bound to assist and provide material assistance to each other. Excluding exceptions, they also have a joint liability in relation to a third of debts contracted by one party for the needs of everyday life. The Pacs also confers a certain number of non-negligible patrimonial benefits such as, notably, the possibility of placing certain assets in common, temporary right to accommodation for the surviving partner as well as tax benefits in the event of asset transfers due to death.

Is the Pacs restricted to a particular format?


The Pacs agreement can either be drafted as a notarised or private agreement.

If the partners choose to draft a private agreement, the document must be prepared in at least two copies, as it creates shared obligations between said partners. Once the agreement has been signed, the partners must, excluding exceptions, physically present themselves together to the Clerk's Office in the magistrate's court of their common place of residence to declare the Pacs agreement. The Clerk registers the common declaration. The Pacs takes effect between the partners from this date onwards, as the registration confers certain date. The Pacs is, on the other hand, effective for third parties as from the mention of the Pacs registration in the margin of each party's birth certificate.

If the partners choose a notarised agreement, the notary, who the couple has freely chosen, receives their common declaration, drafts the notarised agreement and delivers the notarised copies.
Once the agreement has been signed, the drafting notary registers the Pacs, notably using the computerised tool, Pacsen. The Pacs takes effect between the partners from the date of registration. And as previously, the Pacs is effective for third parties as from the mention of the Pacs registration in the margin of each party's birth certificate.

What benefits does a notarised Pacs agreement confer?


Aside from the usual benefits of the notarised agreement, there are multiple advantages conferred by the notarised Pacs.

Firstly, and unlike the registration of the private Pacs agreement for which the Clerk in the magistrate's court must control their territorial jurisdiction in relation to the common residence of both parties, the notarised agreement is registered by the acting notary freely chosen by the couple.

Secondly, when the deed is drafted, each party benefits from the presence of a notary, who advises them on the scope of their agreement and the suitability of certain clauses relative to the respective obligations of the partners. As such, the notary can advise them to include in the deed a clause specifying the financial and practical conditions of mutual assistance (contribution, supporting the work of the other partner, etc.), or even advise them to adopt a specific regime for their assets (either the legal separation of property or joint ownership). It is clear that such advice cannot be provided to partners who choose to draft their agreement by themselves.

Thirdly, a notarised Pacs agreement prevents any risk of loss, destruction or forgery, as the original agreement is conserved by the notary.

Lastly, the couple does not have to go to the magistrate's court as the drafting notary ensures the registration of the agreement and its publication.

Return
Place des Alpes - B.P 80 74402 CHAMONIX MONT BLANC

Pacte civil de solidarité (PACS)



A qui s'adresse le Pacs ?


Le Pacs est un contrat conclu entre deux personnes majeures, de sexe différent ou de même sexe, pour organiser leur vie commune. Il est destiné aux couples qui ne souhaitent pas se marier et qui recherchent un cadre juridique et une sécurité que ne leur apporte pas le concubinage.
Le Pacs crée entre les partenaires des droits et des obligations. Outre le fait de s'engager à une vie commune, les partenaires sont tenus l'un envers l'autre à un devoir d'assistance et à une aide matérielle. Il pèse également sur eux, et sauf exceptions, une obligation solidaire à l'égard des tiers des dettes contractées par l'une d'elles pour les besoins de la vie courante. Le Pacs confère également un certain nombre d'avantages patrimoniaux non négligeables comme, notamment, la possibilité de mettre certains biens en commun, le droit temporaire au logement au bénéfice du partenaire survivant ou encore les avantages fiscaux en cas de transmissions des biens pour cause de mort.

Le Pacs est-il astreint à une forme particulière ?


La convention de Pacs peut être établie par acte notarié ou par acte sous seing privé.

Si les partenaires choisissent de conclure leur convention sous seing privés, l'acte doit être établi en deux exemplaires au moins, dans la mesure où il crée des obligations réciproques entre les partenaires. Une fois la convention signée, les partenaires doivent, sauf exceptions, se présenter en personne et ensemble au greffe du tribunal d'instance de leur résidence commune afin de déclarer la conclusion du Pacs. Le greffier enregistre la déclaration commune. C'est à compter de cette date que le Pacs prend effet entre les partenaires, l'enregistrement lui conférant date certaine. Le Pacs est, en revanche, opposable aux tiers à compter de la mention de l'enregistrement du Pacs en marge de l'acte de naissance des intéressées.

Si les partenaires choisissent de conclure leur convention sous la forme notariée, le notaire, que les intéressés ont librement choisi, recueille leur déclaration commune, établit l'acte authentique et délivre des copies authentiques.
Une fois la convention signée, le notaire rédacteur enregistre le Pacs, notamment par la voie de l'outil informatisé Pacsen. A compter de l'enregistrement, le Pacs prend effet entre les parties. Et comme précédemment, le Pacs est opposable aux tiers à compter de la mention de l'enregistrement du Pacs en marge de l'acte de naissance des intéressés.

Quels avantages procure un Pacs établi sous la forme notariée ?


Outre les bénéfices habituels de l'acte authentique, les avantages qu'offre le Pacs notarié sont nombreux.

En premier lieu, et contrairement à l'enregistrement du Pacs conclu sous seing privé pour lequel le greffier du tribunal d'instance doit vérifier sa compétence territoriale eu égard au lieu de résidence commune des parties, le pacte conclu sous la forme notariée est enregistré par le notaire instrumentaire que les partenaires ont librement choisi.

En deuxième lieu, au moment de l'établissement de l'acte, les parties bénéficient de l'assistance du notaire, ce dernier les conseillent utilement sur la portée de leur engagement ainsi que sur l'opportunité de certaines clauses relatives aux obligations respectives des partenaires. Ainsi, le notaire peut leur conseiller d'inclure dans l'acte une clause précisant les modalités financières et pratiques de l'assistance mutuelle (part contributive, collaboration au travail de l'autre, etc.), ou encore leur conseiller d'adopter un régime précis pour leurs biens (soit le régime légal de la séparation de biens soit l'indivision). Il est évident que de tels conseils ne peuvent être fournis aux partenaires qui choisiraient de rédiger seuls une convention.

En troisième lieu, l'établissement du Pacs par acte notarié évite tout risque de perte, de destruction voire de falsification, l'original de la convention étant conservé par le notaire.

En dernier lieu, les partenaires évitent de se déplacer au tribunal d'instance dans la mesure où le notaire rédacteur se charge de l'enregistrement de la convention et fait procéder aux formalités de publicité.

Retour
Place des Alpes - B.P 80 74402 CHAMONIX MONT BLANC